A friendly forum to get help and support
PortalPortal  ­HomeHome  ­GalleryGallery  ­FAQFAQ  ­SearchSearch  ­RegisterRegister  ­Log inLog in  
Post new topic   Reply to topicShare | 
 

 fake url

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
fay47
Royal Geek
Royal Geek


Number of posts: 186
Registration date: 2008-10-18

PostSubject: fake url   6/25/2009, 18:47

My neighbor just forwarded me an e-mail he recieved that was titled Microsoft Outlook Ciritical Update. He was skeptical and wanted to know what I thought. When I pointed my mouse at the link (that looked like it pointed to microsoft.com) - I could see that it really wasn't. It was really pointing to 1iKil.com. The actual url was much longer than 1ikil.com and actually contained microsoft.com within it. But was really pointing to 1ikil.com. I have no idea what that is. I e-mailed him back and told him not to clcik on the link. I hope no one here would click on the link without checking, but just wanted to post this as a warning - Does anyone know what 1iki.com is?

Fay
Back to top Go down
View user profile
pepperpot
Site Administrator
Site Administrator


Number of posts: 466
Age: 42
Location: Venezuela
Humor: I think I have one
Registration date: 2008-09-19

PostSubject: Re: fake url   6/25/2009, 20:37

Thank you Fay

I went to "Site Advisor" for a report and found none for either http://www.1iki.com or www.1iki.com.

As Repa would say... always make sure what the link is directing to before clicking, that is what the task bar is for

This email scam is normal, good thing your friend paid attention!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
fay47
Royal Geek
Royal Geek


Number of posts: 186
Registration date: 2008-10-18

PostSubject: Re: fake url   6/25/2009, 21:35

Samm

duhhh, I did not even think of going to site advisor.

the site is actually 1IKIL.com

I just went to site adivisor - and it said it may be promoted thru spammy e-mail. Also said it had been queued for testing. I fear it was worse than spam - since it apparently was going to have you download something. He said what caught his attention was that it was in his junk mail. We use the same ISP and I haven't even checked my junk mail yet to see if I received it also.

Fay
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 

fake url

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions of this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Geeks, Geeks and More Geeks :: Windows Computer Help :: Computer Discussion-
Post new topic   Reply to topic